Category: General News

RSS Feed

Shining Guitar website released

Shining Guitar - Released!

Update: The page and tracks are now mirrored at the Shining Guitar Project Page.

Grom dropped in to Ye Olde Blah to let us know about to the release of the Shining Guitar website. Shining Guitar is an album of Shining Force heavy metal covers. It’s been a labour of love over the summer, and it’s great to see it finally come to fruition.

Here’s the complete track listing:

  1. Introduction
  2. Title
  3. Simone’s Theme
  4. Town
  5. Attack
  6. Enemy at the Gate
  7. Overworld
  8. Circus
  9. Holy War
  10. Battle on the Ship
  11. Castle
  12. HeadQuarters
  13. Shade Abbey
  14. Sad Theme
  15. Darksol
  16. Dark Dragon

Several more tracks are also being recorded, including the ending theme and a cover of Shining Force II’s town theme.

Visit the Shining Guitar website and give them a listen, and be sure to congratulate Grom on a job well done :)

Shining Guitar


If you don’t visit Ye Olde Blah on a regular basis, you might have missed Grom’s latest project. It’s an album of electric guitar covers based on the original Shining Force music.

You might think that heavy guitars and Shining Force don’t go together, but check out the tracks and you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

The track listing so far is as follows:

  1. Introduction
  2. Title Screen
  3. Simone’s Theme
  4. Town Theme

Check out the forum topic for more info and the latest updates, and be sure to leave some feedback!

It has begun…


The long task of ripping Shining Force 2 enemy sprites has finally started. There are about 100 different sprites to rip, although some are just  re-colours. There’s also about 30 NPC’s to grab as well.

Expect an update on this by the weekend ;)

This was a silly idea.

Site Update – June 16th, 2008


Shining Force Characters

That’s it. All of the Shining Force 1 sprites are now complete.

There’s no time to relax though, because now it’s time to start on the Shining Force 2 sprites.

Final Conflict Tilesets

A trio of Shining Force: Final Conflict tiles have been added to Shining Aid. There’s still quite a lot left to do, but we’re getting there.

Audio Files

Newts has prepared some jingles for use in your projects. There are four to download: "Waking Up", "Dead", "Saved" and "Promotion". They’re provided in Ogg Vorbis format, which can be converted to other formats using a tool such as Ogg Drop.

They’re all released under the creative commons attribution licence, so if you use them in your project please remember to say thanks with a link to TSS. I’m sure Newts would appreciate a link to his gaming blog too ;)

To compliment these files, a selection of Shining Force 3 sounds have been added to the sound section.

You can grab the jingles and sound effects from the audio section of Shining Aid.

That’s it…for now

And so ends another lame update. Be sure to join us in Ye Olde Blah, and check out the projects people are working on.

P:3/13 1 2 3 4 5 13 14